Being optimistic

One of the things I have tried to do with my blog is not focus on the negative aspects of being a single parent. I try not to focus on how hard it can be. What its like to be the member of your group of friends who always stays home. I try not to make judgement about his biological dad. There is so much negativity in the world that I try to focus on the good things. I am generally an optimistic person and can find the good in just about anything. But just because I don’t focus on it doesn’t mean that we haven’t had our share of bad times. I like to think that we are now in an okay place because of all the trial and tribulation that we have had to endure as a family. There are things we miss out on, weddings, family reunions graduation parties, etc. We don’t have a car. It can be hard to get places sometimes. Even going to the grocery store can be difficult.

I try not to focus on these things because they are not everything. When I look back at our life together I don’t want to remember how hard it was. I don’t want to think about the things we did not do or the people we didn’t get to see. I want to remember what we did. What we laughed about, who snorted milk out their nose first or who splashed who first. When I look back at our move to Vermont, I see it as an adventure. I don’t see the jeep that was help together by duct tape or feel the heat of the car because we couldn’t put the windows down. I remember what it was like singing to High School Musical and getting donuts on the highway.

So many single parents are bitter and angry. I don’t want to be that way. I don’t want AJ to be that way or to remember it that way. I want him to remember and to know what it is like to be happy. Happy with what you got. There will always be something you want, but being happy here and now, together, that is better than getting everything you want.

Leave a comment